Mantou = New Comfort Food

This could easily be the weirdest thing I’ve ever eaten…..and that’s saying something.

John and I have made a habit of shopping at our local Asian supermarket. It’s the perfect place to get all the ingredients we use when we feel like cooking Korean and it just so happens to also carry some products that we’d find at our local supermarket at half to quarter the price. During our most recent trip, we were feeling pretty daring and bought what looked like a Taiwanese version of frozen cinnamon buns. The only English on the package read “Two-colored mantou (chocolate).” Chocolate is always a good, safe bet, right?

With most frozen Asian foods, the best way to prepare them is by steaming them; so that’s exactly what we did. We let them steam for approximately 12 minutes. Cooked mantou, or plain bun, looks very similar to a steamed dumpling: their round or oval in shape, smooth and the dough takes on a nice shine. Honestly, it looks like it’s either made of plastic or something you would see in an anime movie….

Looks like it's made of plastic, right?

Looks like it’s made of plastic, right?

I’ll admit, if the package didn’t say chocolate on it in plain English, I wouldn’t have been convinced; but it did smell slightly of cocoa and I’m a sucker for anything doughy so I dug right in….

It even has air pockets like a nice loaf of bread would

It even has air pockets like a nice loaf of bread would

…AND I LOVED IT. The funny thing is, I can’t tell you why. The flavor was extremely plain and if a loaf of bread and a marshmallow had a baby, that would be the texture. Everyone who tried one in my house hated it except for me. I’m in love.

Leave a comment