Yo Quiero Bueno Comida Mexicana en Rhode Island.

Although I’ve been trying my best to eat healthier – more greens, less fried and processed – I love to have some good Mexican food every once in a while. When I found out that a majority of the places John hosted karaoke and trivia at were Mexican restaurants, excited isn’t even the word to describe my feelings. I feel a little spoiled, actually. I get to enjoy Mexican food AND drinks at half the price because I’m “with” the entertainment? Hell yes!

It sounded great. But, I won’t lie, I’m going to be a little bit of an elitist here. I have yet to find a Mexican restaurant that comes anywhere near Chuck’s Margarita Grill in Branford, CT. Of the places that I have been to with John in RI, they either have good food but terrible drinks, good drinks and crappy food or none of the above. I was quite disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, all of the places are laid out in the same decor. Bright colors, blocky designs and crowded dining areas. But Chuck’s still reigns supreme. The staff at Chuck’s is always friendly and if you happen to be there on the weekends, the bartenders are much more…generous…with the alcohol when mixing their drinks.

I’m sure there are people out there that will disagree with me. But I’ve been partial to Chuck’s since it became my and my friend’s “home from college hang out” once we were of age to sit in the bar. (They won’t let you in the lounge unless you’re 21). We would get a round or two of drinks and share their endless chips and salsa as well as a combo of their mini chimis and avocado cheese crisp.

The mini chimis are my go to. They are flour tortillas wrapped around chicken and cheese and served with guacamole. You get four on a plate and they’re the perfect size for those who are trying to be healthy. Their guacamole is the best, too. It’s not watery or creamy. It’s chunky enough to sit on any tortilla chip or fork and is often served in an ice cream scoop size portion. Delicious.

The avocado cheese crisp is again a flour tortilla coated in avocado, onion, tomato, cilantro and a chipotle sour cream. The crisp is cooked similar to a pizza and is served in the same fashion.

Their drink menu isn’t the most impressive I’ve ever seen. There are some bars and restaurants I’ve been to where the drink menu is pages long. But the drinks Chuck’s DOES have are awesome. I haven’t had one that I really disliked. My absolute favorite is the White Peach Sangria. The times I’ve gotten it there have been no fruit with it, but it’s crisp and refreshing and when it’s made right, tastes just like the fruit juice you’d find in those fruit cups your mom used to put in your lunches.

Most recently I tried the coconut lime margarita. It was OK – definitely for tequila lovers…I’m more of a whiskey fan. Not my favorite but not bad. It was super sweet and rather filling.

Coconut Line Margarita. Definitely for Tequila lovers.

Coconut Line Margarita. Definitely for Tequila lovers.

I would post a picture of my mini chimis, but they were lucky they even made it to the table. Mmmmmm delicious. 🙂

Anyone familiar with the Providence area that knows of a place worth trying, let me know!

6 thoughts on “Yo Quiero Bueno Comida Mexicana en Rhode Island.

  1. The artichoke cheese crisp sounds amazing; I love all things artichoke. My suggestions for this are small. There are some tense inconsistencies (“I was pumped…” vs “I get to…”, “Their drink menu isn’t…” vs “There have been…”) that make the first read a little bit awkward, so I think choosing one and trying to unify would help. I also don’t think that grateful is the right word for this situation. Perhaps liberal, or generous? Also, I had amazing Mexican at El Sombrero in Southington; definitely worth trying!

  2. I think I’ve been to Chuck’s before and liked it. My old favorite was ChiChi’s – RIP. I’m running a 5K tomorrow that ends with a lunch at Acapulco’s in Enfield, CT. Not the best Mexican restaurant, but the best tortilla soup in the area. Happy Cinco de Mayo!

  3. Pingback: Mexican 101: Huevos Rancheros | A Picky Eater's Adventure in Food

Leave a comment