Never Overlook Family Dinner

Come on, admit it. At one point in your life, you’ve made up an excuse to get out of going to a family dinner. I’ve been there. But after reading (and re-reading and re-reading) about the tragedy at the Boston Marathon, dinner at my Grandma and Grandpa’s house was all I wanted.

Because I’ve been so preoccupied with finding the next best place to eat, I forgot just how comforting eating my grandfather’s cooking is.

Dinner this evening wasn’t anything extravagant. It was grilled BBQ chicken, baked potatoes, corn and artichokes cooked in garlic, parsley and oil – and it was exactly what I was in the mood for. My grandparents have always been great cooks and every year we continue to have Easter and Thanksgiving at their house. As they’ve gotten older some of their skills in the kitchen have weakened, but I’ve often been told that “the best food is the kind made with love” and that is something they both have plenty of.

Are there any foods that one of your family members makes that you just can’t get enough of?

Although we didn’t have it tonight, my absolute favorite is my grandmother’s ice box cake. She layers a mix of two packages chocolate and one package vanilla pudding between a crust of graham crackers – which is my favorite part. The crackers soften but aren’t soggy. They retain that smooth buttery flavor which compliments the pudding nicely. The only word I can use to describe it is perfect.

If I can make one request, it’s that you never overlook family dinners – because you never know when it may be just the kind of meal you need.

8 thoughts on “Never Overlook Family Dinner

  1. My mom makes an icebox cake the same way. She has to put graham cracker crumbs on top too, because I recoil at the thought of pudding skin. This post made me nostalgic. It’s so painful to think of such callous disregard for a human life.

  2. This was a really nice post. I love how you started and made everything come full circle by the end when you requested that everyone never take family dinners for granted. And for that matter, you’re suggesting not to take family for granted. That’s a great message. I also find comfort in food cooked by family. My mom is from Trinidad and will often cook native food from there when she feels home sick. Despite her sadness you can feel the love in her cooking. The love of her country, her home, and the love she wants to spread from it.

    • That is exactly what I love about home cooked meals. Aside from the love for their family, you can feel and taste the love of their culture and the respect they have for where they came from.

  3. This was a really nice piece! My grandparents who live here in NY have both passed away and I miss them dearly. I was extremely close with my grandfather and Holiday dinners have not been the same…Im tearing thinking about it. My Other grandmother lives in Maryland, like the rest of my family and we dont get a chance to visit as much as I would like. Time just gets away. But, its moments like the Holidays that I truly cherish as we can all sit down in front of a meal and just enjoy being around one another. As a family, we’ve always made it a point to sit down together as a family on Sunday. No matter how busy we may be, Sunday dinner is designated family time. And I love it! All your problems seem to wash away and a sense of calmness comes over you, even if its just for a short amount of time! Maybe its in the food or the company or probably both but Sunday dinners are moments that I truly relish.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your grandparents’ passing. I agree with you, though. I believe it’s both the company and the food that make those moments truly special. Obvously, the company is those you hold near and dear and the food is what brings you all together. It’s how you best share traditions. Like in one of my earlier posts, my Grandmother’s sauce has been in my family for generations and I will make sure it stays in the family for generations to come. Honor your grandparents by keeping their traditions (food or other) alive!

  4. I don’t know how I missed this post. What a lovely post that reminds us what’s most important in life. This blog has just developed beautifully. My grandmother had mastered corned beef and cabbage. Every time I smell it, I think of her. Isn’t that the beauty of food, to evoke certain times and places and people in our lives?

    • Yes! I can’t hear a teapot whistle and NOT think of my grandmother. She always has to have her tea. It’s the little things that mean the most. Thank you for the kind feedback.

Leave a comment