Pick-E-Recipe: The Presentation

I used Voice Thread to narrate my Powerpoint Presentation. For those who aren’t familiar with the program, all you need to do is copy the link below and paste it into your browser and it will take you straight to my presentation. It should start the slide show automatically. But the pause between slides is a bit long, so you can always click the arrows at the bottom of the presentation to move from slide to slide.

https://voicethread.com/share/4425872/

Writing my script was the easy part. I was able to get that done and out-of-the-way first. I always struggle with Powerpoint presentations because I have the tendency to put too much information on the slides to the point where I was just transferring my script from a Word document to the slides; much like what Prof. Bouchard mentioned in her Module 10 lecture. “How many of [your peers] just read what’s on the slide, without inflection, pause or personality?” I WAS that person when presenting. So this time, I tried to keep the slides short and to the point and fill in the gaps with my script.

My one frustration was, as soon as I starting making my slides, I would think if something to change in my script. But because I was changing my script, I had to go back and change my slides. I was constantly going back and forth from my slides to my script. Then there was that one point where I was recording the voice-over for the last slide and my computer froze, causing all of my work to be wiped out. I said a few choice words but was able to successfully get it done. Enjoy!

Here is a digital copy of my presentation speech.
Presentation Speech

4 thoughts on “Pick-E-Recipe: The Presentation

  1. Great job. I love the idea of a food thesaurus. Articulate voice and clear explanation. I think your font is a little too small on your slides and you could use a little more color (maybe some enticing food pictures?) but the content is super!

  2. The back and forth process you used (whether by choice or not) served you well. I think your audio presentation sounds polished and rehearsed. Well done!

Leave a comment